NBA All-Star Weekend; Sprite Slam-Dunk Competition 2015

NBA All-Star Weekend; Sprite Slam-Dunk Competition 2015

We know… And if you don’t know, now you know – Dunk Elite athletes raised the bar so high, the NBA players today have a lot of catching up to do before coming close to matching the jaw-dropping contests we’ve put on over the years. To make our point let’s look no further than last year’s Ghetto Games in Riga.

Nevertheless, the young guns of the NBA could make a significant impression in Brooklyn this NBA All-Star Weekend. All four of the Sprite Slam-Dunk competitors were drafted into the league in the past two years (Kobe Bryant will maintain his record of youngest to win the contest, at 18, however these kids aren’t far off the mark). To put their youth into perspective, Michael Jordan had already won back-to-back Slam-Dunk titles (’87 & ’88) before the OLDEST athlete was even born. While these players arguably draw less hype than more established dunkers in the league, I really hope they won’t disappoint (I’m looking at you, 2010 Lebron).

Giannis Antetokounmpo


Giannis Antetokounmpo, 20 years old.
6’11” combo shooting guard/small forward with a 39.5” vertical, drafted 15th overall in 2013 by the Milwaukee Bucks.


Zach LaVine


Zach LaVine, 19 years old.
6’5” guard with a 46” vertical, drafted 13th overall in 2014 by the Minnesota Timberwolves.
victor oladipo


Victor Oladipo, 22 years old.
6’4” guard with a 42” vertical, drafted 2nd overall in 2013 by the Orlando Magic.


Mason Plumlee


Mason Plumlee, 24 years old.
6’11” combo centre/power forward with a 36” vertical, drafted 22nd overall in 2013 by the Brooklyn Nets.

The dunk competition started with the ABA, at the 1976 All-Star Weekend in Denver, Colorado, following the legalization of the “slam-dunk” in the NCAA. After the NBA-ABA merger of the same year, the dunk competition didn’t make another appearance until 1984.

ABA All-Star Challenge

This year (thank Lord) the contest is returning to the classic format – two rounds with three attempts per dunk, no time limits. Each athlete gets two dunks in the first round, with the top two athletes moving on to the head-to-head match up in the final round. The Atlanta Hawks and the New York Knicks (leading title holders with 4 wins each) will not be represented this year.


Five hall-of-famers will judge this years contest, crowning the 30th Slam-Dunk champion; Julius Erving, Walt Frazier, Nate Archibald, Bernard King & Chris Mullin. All judges have strong ties to New York where the dunk contest will take place on February 14th.

C’mon young guns, let’s show the superstars how it’s done.

Robyn Smith, HBK.

12:32 pm , February 12, 2015 Comments Off on NBA All-Star Weekend; Sprite Slam-Dunk Competition 2015